top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.
  • Gugulethu Mnisi

Changing my mind

I recently have been thinking about what it means to 'surrender' in relation to our hearts and emotions. I wonder if it's something we throw around because it helps us think we are humble, or it's a way of removing a certain responsibility from us (the children of God), or it helps us get away with how we react to unfavorable circumstances. I think sometimes we are just lazy and we just want to pray away everything. I personally have prayed away certain things in my life, but they've stuck around any way. That's when i began to ask questions. Does God not answer prayers? He most certainly does. However, if we say that we are in a relationship with him, then we know that the onus is not one sided. We have the responsibility to take charge of our minds and our hearts.

The bible says in the book of Proverbs 4:23 Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. It doesn't say that God will guard your heart for you. Again, Colossians 3:2 says: Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. The setting of the mind is not automatic, but voluntary. We choose what we look at, what we entertain, what to take in and what not to take in. We choose which thoughts to think and which not to think. This is not as easy as it sounds because we have been through so much between the time we were born and now, but I like what a friend of mine likes to reiterate: "The mind knows no difference". This means you can re-educate your mind. It's not easy yes, it's like potty training a 2 year old. But with consistency and practice, we can win at this.

I am writing about this as I reflect daily on what depression is and how can one overcome it. Medically, it is a mental disorder but I call it the battle field, a wilderness in which I fight for my mind because I understand that I need a clear, sober mind for my next level in life. No one has to stay depressed, especially not the children of God. We need to be responsible Christians if we are going to influence change in the world. Creation has beeeeeeeeeeeeen waiting for us. Time to get up and show up.

Romans 8:19 For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed.

The word of God in proverbs says: Proverbs 4:23 Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.


22 views
  • Facebook

083 984 5491

Johannesburg, South Africa

©2017 by GugulethuWord. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page